Let's talk about workations

You have to be realistic about how much work you get done

I just got home from 5 weeks in Thailand.

It was great, but not for work. In the beginning of February, I had big plans. Wanted to release my next app, VoicePost within a few days. (Haven’t worked on it since 😕 ).

But hey, you shouldn’t be so hard on yourself, right? I had a good time after all.
And it was beautiful. Or don’t you think?

Being realistic

If you go to Thailand or any other place in Southeast Asia, going from A to B takes time. And you need to plan for delays. They happen all the time. On travel days, you most likely won’t work.

Now, being on a tropical island. You want to see things. Want to go for a swim. Or snorkel, or dive. This takes up time too. Oh, and don’t forget about sunsets.

Ok, so you stay 7 days in one place, 1 day is taken up from travel. 6 left. Let’s say you work 4 days. That means you only have 2 days to explore that beautiful place you’re in.

2 days is not too much. That’s why I advise anyone who’s going on a workation to really think about that beforehand. How much do you want to see of that place and stay at least 7 days in one place. Better 2 weeks.

Work vs Travel

If you are on a workation and your friends are just there for travel, it just doesn’t work. (At least for me). You have a different pace. They want to go places, see things, party, etc.
And your willpower is only so strong. Maybe you say no 2 times, but the 3rd time you cave in.

I want to explore things. And I like to party. I want to see new places. Again, just be realistic.

Effiency

My work set up at home looks like this. Height adjustable desk, Steelcase chair, 34-inch curved display, mechanical keyboard. And my own 20m2 office, where it’s completely quiet.

That’s how I like to work. (Although I will upgrade to a 40-inch screen soon).

Now you’re on workation. I bring my 14-inch MacBook.

Programming is just not going to be that efficient. I need 2–3 windows next to each other to work efficiently. This is not going to happen on my MacBook.

Co-working spaces

The truth is, I don’t like them too much.

But I also don’t like big offices. I just get distracted if people walk around or talk. Maybe the AC doesn’t work well, or the chairs are super unconformable. There is just always something that bothers me.

Where will take my calls to not distract others?
Are the opening hours in sync with my office hours? (hello time difference)

I got lucky on Koh Phangan with one coworking space. They offered screens and keyboard and mouse. You just plugged in your MacBook. And it was super quiet there. Got a lot of work done there. But that’s definitely the exception. Here is a pic.

Will I do it again?

Probably, my memory is very short-lived, and I usually forget the bad things.

I enjoy being able to do it, and just love being on the road.
So yeah, will probably do it again.
But definitely in a place where I’ve been. Fewer distractions. Probably Bali.

Maybe see you next year :)

And a little self-promotion at the end.

For daily posts around being a freelancer and Flutter in general you can follow me on LinkedIn.
https://www.linkedin.com/in/joe-wilhelm/

I’m also starting to post on Twitter/X and would love a like or even follow there.
https://twitter.com/josef__wilhelm

And here is a link to my Fast Flutter Template.
Check it out if you want to release your next Flutter app super quick.
https://www.fastfluttertemplate.com/

And finally. Thanks for reading.
I really appreciate it.

Reply

or to participate.