AFF#6 - App Development Check List

Before starting the development process for an app, you should consider a few things. And if you decide to follow through, there are still a lot of things to prepare. I will look into this today.

The reality

Developing an app is not done overnight. Ok, maybe you can create a tiny app within a day.

But you won’t be able to publish it to your users. Apple and Google made sure of that. The reason is their cut on every sale.

How to get started

Over the last few years, I created more than 30 apps. Here is a list that I send to new clients that they should consider:

  1. Budget

  2. Market research

  3. Validation of your idea

  4. Timeline

  5. Feature list

  6. Design

    1. Fonts

    2. Colors

    3. Icons

  7. Dev stuff

    1. App identifier

    2. App Store & Play Store Accounts

    3. Git repo

    4. Translations

    5. App Icons

    6. Backend

      1. This is of course a topic on it’s own.

    7. CI/CD

    8. Analytics and Crashlytics

Don’t waste your money

By just looking at this long list, one thing is clear: Creating an app will be expensive.

Hence, don’t just assume your app will be a success. Take your time and validate. Not just with family and friends.

I actually wrote in detail about how to create an app before. This link describes how I built one of my apps. Ez Meditation Timer. For iOS and Android. (Disclaimer: My way of working changed a bit since I wrote that 2y ago)

Here is the link.

As always, thanks for reading. It really means a lot to me.

And if you’re not already subscribed, you can do so here:

Reply

or to participate.